Google Ad Sense: A Potential Source of Revenue
In a layman’s term, it’s just a way for bloggers to monetize their blogs. Google released this platform in 2003 and thus facilitated hundreds of thousands of bloggers and websites worldwide to start making Money with Google AdSense. The minutiae of Adsense though, involves a certain level of complexity, to develop an absolute grasp. To be precise, the owner of the blog/websites can make money with Google AdSense whenever site’s visitors view or click the ads supported primarily by Google. One can use and display targeted images, videos or texts for the visitors.
Initially, ‘AdSense’, most probably will be a foreign concept for a majority of newbie bloggers. The pre – requisite for including Adsense is to actually have a blog or a website and also a required minimum age of 18 years. Next you would need to apply for ‘Ad Sense’, and for that an account of the same needs to be created. Once signed up you would add Adsense ads to your blogs, further which your account will be reviewed and will be either accepted or rejected based on certain cardinals maintained by Google.
The Burning Question:
The most frequently asked question by newbies as well as some professional bloggers is, How much you can actually make money with Google AdSense ? The answer requires a full – fledged understanding of the working of Adsense’s models that deal with revenue.
These models in Adsense are predominantly of two types, namely the CPC and CPM based models. Adsense has numerous lingos, that one needs to be comfortable with.
The first is CPC which stands for Cost Per Clicks and is self – explanatory, representing the fact that you earn depending on the number of clicks on the ads in your blogs (doesn’t mean you start clicking on your own ads, this will result in a permanent ban!). The money earned via CPC primarily depends on the topographical location of one’s audience. Traffic from tier – 1 countries like Canada, UK automatically leads to a higher CPC, conversely traffic from higher tiered countries lead to a lower CPC.
CPC also banks on the keywords you are trying to address. Keywords related to technology or gadgets tend to make the CPC high, as these particular fields include an immense competition among advertisers.
Other frequently used jargons include CPM, that stands for Cost Per 1000 Impressions, RPM i.e. Revenue Per 1000 Impressions and CTR referring to Click Through Rate.
A key point to remember is, a good CPC in no way guarantees a hefty revenue; a good CTR also holds paramount importance. A good CTR ensures that you have a good number of people clicking on your ads. CTR essentially depends on various cardinals such as the source of traffic, placement of an ad on the page, ad blending etc.
Further CPC and CTR can be combined to form what we call RPM.
Page RPM = (Estimated earnings / Number of page views) * 1000
Suppose if your RPM is $3, this implies that you’ll be making around $3 per 1000 page views.
If you have website with 5000 page views per day at an RPM of $3, Then
Your daily income will Pageviews/1000 x RPM = 5000/1000 x $3 = $15 Day
It mean you can able to make $450 approx per month if your website/blog have 5000 pageviews per day at average $3 RPM.
Factors governed by You:
Further, a blogger’s aim by profession should never be for monetary gain. One can find ample bloggers out there who write and maintain blogs solely for the purpose of earning easy money via ad sense and most of them give no heed to the content of their respective blogs.
Though there is nothing unethical or illegal with this approach, but one should be aware that visitors are not morons, they usually give up on such sites relatively easily.
Moreover, lack of knowledge in one’s particular domain results in a massive degradation of the site’s quality overtime and gradually the pay off also decreases.